Flag
  • Sign In
  • 0 items
  • Search
Welcome Guest! Please login to enable all features.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
Nancy J. Offline
#1 Posted : Sunday, February 19, 2012 8:49:18 PM(UTC)
Nancy J.

Groups: Registered

Was thanked: 113 time(s) in 71 post(s)
Help... I am new to cricut and want to know more.. I would love to know why I should buy the design studio and how is it different then the craft room... thanks inadvance.
 1 user thanked Nancy J. for this useful post.
smitchell123162646b278a on 3/5/2014(UTC)
Narelle Offline
#2 Posted : Sunday, February 19, 2012 9:36:31 PM(UTC)
Narelle

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Circle Member, Registered
Australia

Was thanked: 7568 time(s) in 3532 post(s)
Here's some information I have recently sent to some other new members of our messageboard. Hope it helps. Smile

Cricut Design Studio (DS) was PC's first design software. It works with all the Cricuts except the E2, Imagine and Cricut Mini. It works fine (I have been using it quite happily since it was released in 2007.) It does have a few limitations - there's no true grouping feature and as I said it can't be used with the newer Cricut Models. It isn't Mac compatible and the program itself isn't being updated anymore. It is what it is. :)

The new carts are still being added each month but there is no word on how long PC will continue that. DS is getting quite difficult to find these days, especially for a good price. (I did just see that's it's available again at Cricut.com for $59.99.)

Rather than do a full recode of Design Studio, PC created a totally new program - Cricut Craft Room (CCR). And they made it free!

It does nearly everything that DS can do, plus more that DS can't. I find myself going straight to CCR instead of DS these days.